For those looking to get auto insurance coverage in Georgia, some basic guidelines apply. Here are some helpful items for finding the right Georgia auto insurance requirement and how to get the best policies within the state system.
- Find Out About Owner Responsibility - Resources such as the Georgia state Department of Motor Vehicles site explain the rules for drivers who are registering vehicle in the state of Georgia. Take a look to better understand your responsibility as a driver and owner of a vehicle.
- Find Out About Methods of Securing Financial Responsibility - In the state of Georgia, purchasing a standard minimum liability insurance policy is the most common way that drivers establish financial responsibility. However, other options such as self-insurance may apply. Find out more from Georgia's Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner at (800) 656-2298.
- Know About Georgia Minimum Liability Insurance - Again, buying the minimum liability insurance for the state of Georgia is often the most reasonable way to become compliant with the state's auto insurance laws. In Georgia, residents must purchase coverages of $25,000 per person for bodily injury and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, as well as $25,000 per accident for property damage. This insurance means your insurance company will pay out to victims if you cause a crash. It is mandated by the state to protect everyone.
- Understand the Use of Uninsured Motorist Coverage - In Georgia, according to recent insurance reports, residents do not have to buy uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage, also known as UM/UIM. In some states, getting UM/UIM is mandatory. This kind of insurance will pay out if you are hit by an uninsured driver. It's often good to consider getting UM/UIM even if your state doesn't require it.
- Look at Additional Insurance to Satisfy a Lender - There's another thing Georgia drivers must look at regarding their auto insurance policies if their vehicles are under financing. The state doesn't care if a vehicle is insured against collision damage, but a lender does, if that lender has a stake in its value. For any vehicle where auto loan amounts are still being paid off, a driver may be forced to get collision, comprehensive, and/or gap insurance to protect the value of the vehicle in any contingency. If the driver does not buy these, the lender may legally buy them and charge for them as part of the deal. Know whether your vehicle has a lien and whether the lienholder wants additional insurance in place.
- Use Georgia Department of Insurance tools - One thing that Georgia offers its residents online is a sophisticated model for showing comparative auto insurance rates. Web users can plug in their demographics and see roughly what they are liable to be paying for a compliant insurance policy within the state. Other information is also available on the web site. Browse the site and see more about what's needed in Georgia, and how to work auto insurance into your budget.
All of the above can help Georgia residents decide what to buy in auto insurance.