Anyone looking for auto insurance coverage in Pennsylvania should know that the state maintains its own unique set of car insurance laws for protecting anyone who is traveling on Pennsylvania roads. Drivers looking for new insurance within the state can benefit from knowing more about what is needed and what is offered from Pennsylvania certified insurance carriers and agents. Here are some common tips for getting Pennsylvania car insurance:
- Check out Graduated Driving Policies for New Drivers - The state of Pennsylvania has set up regulations for the newest drivers to help them ease into a role as an experienced insured driver. Look for these graduated licensing or GDL laws in Pennsylvania at the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety online.
- Consider Defensive Driving Courses - Other drivers looking for insurance in Pennsylvania may benefit from taking a defensive driving course. Learn more about the options for potential decreases in insurance costs from the American Safety Council. In addition to getting drivers more savvy about being on the road, these kinds of driving workshops can be useful in limiting the cost of auto insurance.
- Know about Tort Options - One of the specific issues in buying insurance in Pennsylvania is regarding the "tort" system. Pennsylvania still subscribes to a classical tort system for handling accident claims. This means a lot of litigation around accident compensation. Pennsylvania insurance carriers can offer drivers a choice of full tort coverage, where they can sue for all costs in court, including pain and suffering, or limited tort. In a limited tort policy, a driver waives their right to seek pain and suffering compensation. A limited tort option can lower monthly premiums. Drivers should think carefully about which option is better before signing on insurance.
- Look into Uninsured Motorist Coverage - Recent reports indicate uninsured motorist coverage or UM/UIM is not mandatory in Pennsylvania. However, this kind of insurance coverage can help drivers seek compensation if they are hit by an uninsured driver. Pennsylvania state insurance carriers may recommend up to $100,000 per person and $300,000 per incident in UM/UIM coverage. Think about whether you need this kind of coverage to protect yourself on the road.
- Know Your Basic Liability Requirements - Every state has liability limits for protecting car accident victims. A policyholder has to buy coverage for these minimum payouts. In Pennsylvania, drivers must cover $15,000 of coverage for an injury or death to one person in a single accident, as well as $30,000 of coverage for injuries or deaths to more than one person. They also need to cover $5,000 of property damage insurance.
- Look into Additional Insurance for Satisfying Lenders - If you have chosen to finance a new or used car or truck, you may need to add additional kinds of insurance on your vehicle, in case it is involved in an accident or damaged in some way. Pennsylvania state insurance agents can help you add collision or comprehensive insurance a vehicle in order to make sure its entire value is covered.
The above are some of the main things drivers have to think about when applying for legitimate auto insurance in the state of Pennsylvania.