If you are interested in buying a car in Missouri, you will have to know about Missouri car tax. The following set of step-by-step instructions will give you all the information you need to determine ahead of time how much you will have to pay for Missouri state auto sales tax.
Step 1- Know Missouri's Auto Tax Laws
In Missouri, the Sales tax for cars is 4.225% to 4.5% of the total cost of the car. There is also a Title tax of $11, a Registration tax of between $35.25 to $51.25 and a plate transfer tax of $5.50. Other than these specific laws, the tax for buying a car in Missouri is the same as it is anywhere else in the United States.
Step 2- Assessing Value
The fastest way to determine how much you will have to pay in taxes for a car in Missouri is to use a Missouri car tax calculator, but to do this you will have to know the value of the car first. You can easily find out how much the type of car you are interested in buying is worth by doing a quick Google search for its model.
Step 3- Deductions
After you have calculated the car tax for the vehicle you are looking at, look for tax deductions that you might apply for. In Missouri, if your adjusted gross income is between $125,000 and $135,000, you may apply for a proportionate sales tax reduction. If you earn less than that, you are eligible for an even bigger deduction.