3/4 Front Glamour 2014 Jeep Wrangler
Jeep Wrangler Model Years


Research by Year
, Automotive Editor -

An automotive icon if ever there were one, the 2013 Jeep Wrangler is still recognizable as a descendant of the rugged 4x4 built for the U.S. military during World War II. Known as the CJ—short for Civilian Jeep—it sold strongly for decades, even as the brand went through a series of owners.

In 1987, then-owner American Motors introduced the Wrangler, the first major update of the CJ concept. Chrysler acquired AMC that same year, and has since redesigned the Wrangler twice— in 1997 and 2007. The current generation might be more civilized and a tad larger than its predecessors, but its image as the quintessential off-road vehicle is as strong as ever.

Jeep Wrangler Generations

2007 - 2014 Jeep Wrangler

3/4 Front Glamour 2014 Jeep Wrangler

Major changes included: The third iteration of the Wrangler is larger than previous generations, and it is offered as two-door and four-door models. It is available in X, X Right Hand Drive, Sahara, and Rubicon trim levels. A 3.8 liter V6 is standard on all trims. Also for 2008, the Wrangler Unlimited sits on a longer wheelbase than other Wrangler models. It is offered with rear wheel drive, Navigation System, and remote keyless entry. It is powered by the same 3.8 liter V6 engine as the other trims.

See Year: 2007 - 2008 - 2009 - 2010 - 2011 - 2012 - 2013 - 2014

Buying New?

Build and price your dream Jeep Wrangler in just a few easy steps.
Build & Price